Club of the Year


Club of the Year 2019 winners - Kinross Otters ASC

We believe that strong clubs can offer local communities a vibrant focus for volunteer and athlete development, essential for creating lifelong participants and local and national heroes.  We have a strong network of clubs across Scotland and we would like to recognise their achievements through our Club of the Year Award.

For 2019, we extend our congratulations to Kinross Otters ASC, Scottish Swimming's Club of the Year for 2019. Here's a little bit more about the club, as read on our Awards Night by host Arlene Stuart:

"The winners this year describe themselves as a community club with a competitive edge where culture is at the heart of the clubs identity.  Inclusion is key to the clubs success and the club prides itself on ensuring everyone has a voice and every member is valued, whether they are a swimmer in the pool, a coach on poolside or a volunteer on the committee. 

From the moment you walk through the door, it hits you that this club is a family.  Happy, smiling members; engaged coaches and strong leaders guiding the club into a positive and bright future."

We also congratulate West Dunbartonshire ASC and Dumfries ASC who were shortlisted for this award.


  • Nominations for Club of the Year are invited from any current accredited club SwiMark Plus/DiveMark Plus/PoloMark Plus/SynchroMark Plus) (within the last 3 years)
  • Nominations can be made by any member of a qualifying club
  • Nominations will only be accepted via online application
  • All sections must be completed by applicants.  Incomplete applications will not be accepted
  • Nominations will not be accepted for previous winners of Club of the Year for the 2 subsequent years after award
  • Clubs must demonstrate they have made an outstanding contribution during the last 12 months based on progress against a club development plan
  • The winning club will be presented with an Award, Certificate and promotion package and a club session with a national athlete and coach
  • Selection Panel, 4 from a selection of:
    • Director of Development
    • Director of Performance
    • Director of Services
    • Club Development Manager
    • SASA President
    • SASA Vice President
    • sportscotland representative
    • Previous Club of the Year winner
    • Board member
  • The selection panel will shortlist 3 clubs who will be invited to the Scottish Swimming Awards evening, held annually (3 representatives per club)
  • The selection panel will visit the 3 shortlisted clubs on a club night, throughout the month of June, whenever is suitable for the club  
  • All nominated clubs will be informed of the outcome of the selection process
  • Structured feedback will be provided upon request
  • The selection panels’ decision is final
  • Completed applications should be received by Scottish Swimming no later than 5pm on the submission date.  The online form will not be accessed beyond this point.