Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Mark Deans and Rebecca Smith take Scottish Indoor 5 km Titles

The new 50 meter pool at the Aberdeen Sports Village saw its first long course competition on Sunday when it hosted the final of the 5 km Indoor Championships. This was the culmination of a process which started with a series of time trials in 25 metre pools hosted by clubs across the whole of Scotland between November and January. The times posted in these swims determined the medallists in the various age categories, but the event in Aberdeen drew the 10 overall fastest men and 10 overall fastest women together to contest the open final. This was gruelling challenge for the competitors who had to cover 100 lengths, more than three times what is conventionally considered the maximum distance pool events.

The women’s race saw Rebecca Smith (Warrender) establishing an early lead over Mhairi High (REN 96) ahead of Alyshia McCracken (FIRST) and India Dodd (Warrender) swimming stroke for stroke with each other. McCracken and Dodd gradually narrowed the gap to High overtook at the 1500 metre mark. Smith continued to build her lead and lapped McCracken and Dodd at the half way mark.  This provided the impetus for McCracken to change pace and stay with Smith and move ahead of Dodd. Towards the end of the race it was McCracken who was recording the fastest splits but this could only slightly reduce the gap to Smith who won with a little over 1 minute to spare. Dodd finished in third place 28 seconds behind McCracken.

The men’s race followed a similar pattern with Mark Deans (City of Glasgow) setting out at a strong pace which took him away from the rest of the field but with Ross Gale and Ross MacDonald (both REN 96), Joe Steel (South Aberdeenshire), John Wright (North Ayrshire) and Scott Deans (City of Glasgow) closely contesting the next places. As the race progressed, Scott Deans gradually established himself in second place but couldn’t close the gap on his elder brother. Gale had a good second half of the race and finished 10 seconds behind Scott Deans.

Final Results


1       Mark Deans (City of Glasgow Glasgow Swim Team) 0:57:59.47

2       Scott Deans (City of Glasgow Glasgow Swim Team) 0:59:27.28

3       Ross Gale (REN 96) 0:59:37.45

4       John Wright (North Ayrshire A.S.C.) 1:01:12.27

5       Joe Steel (South Aberdeenshire Swimming) 1:02:08.68

6       Ross MacDonald (Ren 96) 1:02:17.73

7       Calum Archibald (Warrender B.C.) 1:02:26.90

8       Sam Andrews (Livingston & District Dolphins) 1:03:11.89

9       James MacFarlane (Livingston & District Dolphins) 1:03:58.82

10     Alex Forsyth (Livingston & District Dolphins) 1:06:05.05


1       Rebecca Smith (Warrender B.C.) 1:01:04.66

2       Alyshia McCracken (FIRST) 1:02:13.33

3       India Dodd (Warrender B.C.) 1:02:35.44

4       Mhairi High (REN 96) 1:02:56.96

5       Jordon Sturt (Warrender B.C.) 1:03:13.83

6       Ailsa Timoney (Warrender B.C.) 1:05:10.03

7       Natalie Lees (Fauldhouse Penguins) 1:08:05.23

8       Rhiannon Gilkes (City of Glasgow Swim Team) 1:09:50.69

9       Kirsty McGinley (REN 96) 1:10:47.51

10     Holly Williams (Inverness) 1:11:20.72