Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Harkin and Milne take overall victory of the Grand Prix Series.

At the end of the North District Grand Prix Sian Harkin (University of Stirling) and Stephen Milne (Perth City) were named the overall winners. Both Harkin and Milne scored maximum points in their respective categories across all three rounds to comfortably take victory.

In the Womens Sprint category Sian Harkin finished ahead of Raquel Matos (East Lothian) and Rachel-Louise Masson (South Aberdeenshire). Stephen Milne won the Mens Distance category ahead of Martin Cremin (Stirling Swimming) and Ian Porteous (City of Glasgow Swim Team).

Hannah Miley (Garioch) scored maximum points in both round one and three to win the Womens Middle category. Only three points separated second and third place with Warrender Bath’s swimmer Sally Wood finishing ahead of Sian Morgan (Edinburgh University).

City of Glasgow swimmer Camilla Hattersley was the top swimmer in the Womens Distance category. She finished ahead of Open Water specialists Danielle Huskisson (University of Stirling) and Rebecca Smith (Warrender Baths Club).

After a hat-trick of breastroke medals at North District Grand Prix, Ross Murdoch won the sprinting top spot ahead of Joe Welstead and Merk Tully finished third.

The University of Stirling men dominated the Mens Middle category. Lewis Smith won ahead of teammates Joshua Walsh and Ross Muir who took the second and third spots respectively.

The full results from the North District Grand Prix can be found here
A full breakdown of the Overall Category Winners is available here

All pictures for the Grand Prix Series are now on Flickr

More information about the series can be found here