Friday, June 27, 2014

Jamieson takes gold in Manchester

“My main job now is to rest up and make sure I’m fully ready for the Commonwealth Games.” Michael Jamieson

Michael Jamieson won gold in his main event at the British Gas International Swimming Meet in Manchester. 

In the closest race of the session the top three swimmers in the 200m Breaststroke were separated by just 0.28 seconds.  Jamieson (British Gas NTC Bath) led from the start and held on to touch in 2:11.89 and retain his 200m Breaststroke title. Adam Peaty (City of Derby) finished 0.11 seconds behind to take silver in 2:12.00 and Ross Murdoch (University of Stirling) took bronze in 2:12.17. 

Jamieson said: “It was a pretty slow time to be honest but I’ve just been trying to go through the motions and think of it as a training session.

“My main job now is to rest up and make sure I’m fully ready for the Commonwealth Games.”

Roberto Pavoni (British Gas NTC Loughborough) produced a strong performance to retain his 400m Individual Medley title. The British Champion took over four seconds off his qualifying swim to take gold in a time of 4:21.80. Lewis Smith (Warrender) and Ross Muir (University of Stirling) were 4th and 5th respectively.

Defending champion Chris Walker-Hebborn (British Gas NTC Bath) posted a 54.36 to take gold and retain his 100m Backstroke title. University of Stirling’s Charlie Boldison took silver in 55.62 and Marco Loughran (Guildford City) took bronze in 55.87. Craig McNally (Warrender) was 4th and Ryan Bennett (University of Stirling) finished in 6th place.

In the first sprint race of the day Amy Smith (British Gas NTC Loughborough) won gold in the women’s 50m Freestyle with a time of 25.30. Ruta Meilutyte (Plymouth Leander) and Sian Harkin (University of Stirling) finished second and third in 25.59 and 25.69 respectively.

In the 100m Breaststroke Olympic gold medallist Ruta Meilutyte came from behind to take gold in 1:07.58 ahead of British champion Sophie Taylor (City of  Leeds) in 1:08.97 and Katie Armitage (Hatfield) in 1:10.22.

James Guy (Millfield School) won the 200m Freestyle in 1:48.59. Robbie Renwick (City of Glasgow) clocked 1:49.42 for silver and Stephen Milne (Perth City) posted 1:49.54 for bronze.  Duncan Scott (FIRST) was 8th. In the Junior final Aberdeen’s Suleman Butt finished 3rd in 1:55.21.

James Hollis (S10) won gold in the MC 100m Butterfly touching in 1:00.71 to take 784 points. James Clegg (S12) was second in 1:02.16 (765 points) and Kahoru Harazawa (S10) was third in 1:04.10 (666 points).

Videos of Gold medalists are available to watch:

Michael Jamison on winning 200m breaststroke final:

Stephen Milne on winning his 2nd gold medal

Scott Quin on winning MC 100m breaststroke: