Saturday, September 13, 2014

Commonwealth Games Medallists amongst those Recognised at Swimming’s Night of Celebration

"The Scottish Swimming Awards once again acknowledged the outstanding successes achieved throughout the aquatics field from athletes and coaches to volunteers and local authorities, all of whom play an important role in leading our sport" Maureen Campbell Chair of Scottish Swimming

Hosted by Olympic bronze medallist and BBC commentator Steve Parry and double Commonwealth Gold Medallist for Team Scotland in 2006, David Carry, the Scottish Swimming Awards celebrated the success of the entire Scottish aquatics community, both nationally and internationally.

This year Commonwealth Games Champions Ross Murdoch was one of many people in Scotland’s wide aquatic community recognised at the 15th Scottish Swimming Awards, proudly sponsored by Scottish Gas, at the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum on 13 September 2014.

In recognition of his fantastic achievements this summer Ross Murdoch was presented with the Nancy Riach Memorial Medal. 2014 was when Murdoch really made the world sit up and take notice. A stunning Gold medal performance in the 200m Breaststroke at the Commonwealth Games in the fastest time in the world this year, just 29 hundredths off the World Record, provided one of the sublime Glasgow 2014 moments. This was followed by Bronze in 100m Breaststroke and two silver medals at the European Championships.

Another Commonwealth Games Medallist recognised was Erraid Davies. The 13 year old swimmer from Shetland won the heart of a nation when she won Bronze in the SB9 100m Breaststroke Her achievement was celebrated by presenting her with the WG Todd Prize and Cup for Junior Female Athlete of the Year.

The event also recognised the contribution of the Local Authority and Leisure Trust Service Providers, who play a major part in supporting Scottish Swimming’s programmes and services and their vision that every person in Scotland should have access to quality swimming programmes, regardless of age or ability. One of the awards, The Service Provider of the Year, was awarded to Edinburgh Leisure.

Joining Murdoch and Davies at the event were over 20 Team Scotland Commonwealth Games athletes including medallists Robbie Renwick, Corrie Scott, Stephen Milne and Duncan Scott amongst many others. Andrew Mullen was also present at the event collecting the Jim Anderson Award for Disability Swimmer of the Year. He received the award for his success competing at the IPC European Championships in Eindhoven this August, where he won 4 Gold and 2 Silver medals as well as posting two new European Records.

This year’s Awards Dinner acted as a double celebration of the achievements made by Scottish competitors in Aquatics events as we welcomed new Athletes into the Scottish Swimming Hall of Fame, a virtual platform celebrating the lifetime achievements of key Scottish athletes in all fields of aquatics. The Hall of Fame can be viewed online at

This year’s inductees are:

Jim Anderson (swimming)

David Carry (swimming)

Gordon Downie (swimming)

Ian Edmond (swimming)

Kris Gilchrist (swimming)

Kirsty Kettles (swimming)

Alan McClatchey (swimming)

Annette Moonie (water polo)

For 2014 the event has moved to the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, marking Scottish Swimming’s strong connection with Glasgow after a hugely successful Commonwealth Games. This weekend Glasgow has also played host to Scottish Swimming’s Participation and Performance Conference which saw delegates from across Scotland meet at the Tollcross International Swimming Centre to discuss and debate how to develop lasting aquatic legacies which will benefit Scotland for years to come. A drinks reception prior to the Awards Dinner was hosted by Glasgow’s Lord Provost Office, Baille Jonathon Findlay.

Maureen Campbell, Chair of the Scottish Swimming Board, thanked all involved in the aquatic community for a successful year: ‘The Scottish Swimming Awards once again acknowledged the outstanding successes achieved throughout the aquatics field from athletes and coaches to volunteers and local authorities, all of whom play an important role in leading our sport - a sport for all, a sport for life. The Scottish Amateur Swimming Association has once enjoyed great success over the past 12 months, and once again, we are delighted that there was so much to celebrate and look forward to 2015.’

Kevin Roxburgh, Managing Director of Scottish Gas, the event’s sponsor and Scottish Swimming principal partner, is proud of the existing partnership the two organisations have formed: ‘I am extremely proud of the partnership between Scottish Gas and Scottish Swimming. We want everyone to get inspired by sport and use swimming to improve their lifestyle. This evening is not just about the achievements of some of our most talented athletes but the contribution of Scotland’s aquatic community as a whole.’

Pictures from awards night can be found on Scottish Swimming’s Flickr site please click here.

Pictures from the conference can be found on Scottish Swimming's Flickr site please click here.





For more information about Scottish Swimming visit   

For more information about Scottish Swimming’s Hall of Fame visit

For any further information please contact Kirsten Phillips, Marketing and Communications Manager, by email to or by phone at 07730 661788

For high resolution pictures and further content from both the conference and awards please visit


The full list of Award Winners from the 2014 Scottish Swimming Awards Event is as follows:

Service Provider of the Year:     Edinburgh Leisure

Every Child Can Swim Award:    Stirling Council/Active Stirling

WG Todd Prize & Cup (Female): Erraid Davies

WG Todd Prize & Cup (Male):     Duncan Scott

Senior Water Polo Player:           Bojan Donevski

Junior Water Polo Player:           Hannah Edwards

John & Margaret Bell Award:       Jenny Leeming

Denis Sullivan Memorial Trophy:   Mark Deans

Eian Prentice Memorial Trohpy:     Scott Deans

Synchronised Swimmer of the Year:     Edie Turner

The Jim Anderson Award for Disability Swimmer of the Year:    Andrew Mullen

BSCA Coach of the Year:     Ben Higson

BSCA Junior Coach of the Year:     Elaine Johnston & Steven Tigg

JY Coutts Award:     Hannah Miley

Nancy Riach Memorial Medal: Ross Murdoch

Scottish Gas Outstanding Contribution to Swimming Award:     Danny McGowan 

Club of the Year: Livingston & District Dolphins ASC