Friday, April 24, 2015

Scott, Heatly and Edwards selected for Baku

Duncan Scott (Swimming), James Heatly (Diving) and Hannah Edwards (Water Polo) were amongst the 153 athletes announced by The British Olympic Association (BOA) selected to represent Team GB at this summer’s inaugural European Games in Baku.

Team GB will compete across 13 sports and 19 disciplines at Baku 2015, as 50 European nations come together for the continent’s first ever major multi-sport event from June 12th – 28th this year.

In total, 20 sports make up the programme for the 17 days of action in Baku including Diving, Swimming, Synchronised Swimming and Water Polo and over 6,000 athletes are expected in Azerbaijan to compete across the 253 medal events.

Team GB fans will also be able to watch the team in action  as BT Sport today announced that they will provide daily coverage of the Games.

The broadcast deal is the latest in a series signed by Baku 2015, with the event’s broadcast reach now stretching to all corners of Europe and across the globe.

Tim Jones, British Swimming Head of Performance Pathway said:  “We are extremely pleased to be able to announce such a strong team for Baku, which includes a number of swimmers who have previous medal winning form from last year's European Junior Championships.

“To be part of a high profile, multi-sport Games will be a particularly valuable experience and I am sure this event will play an integral part in the longer journey they will all take towards future senior international success."

Diver Matty Lee said: “I am extremely excited to be part of Team GB for Baku 2015. This is the first ever European Games so adds to how prestigious the Games will be. I had to miss out on the Commonwealth Games last year because of injury so I think this opportunity to experience a multi-sports environment first hand will be so valuable for my career.

“I learnt a lot from the senior divers last year and training and competing alongside the likes of Tom Daley and Jack Laugher has really helped me and taught me how you prepare properly for a competition.”

Talent Development Synchronised Swimming Karen Thorpe said: “Securing bronze in the team event at the qualifying competition in Istanbul was a huge boost to the team and showed how hard they have been working since last year’s European Swimming Championships.

“The European Games will be another good opportunity for the whole squad to compete on an international stage and we are looking forward to showcasing some great British talent.”

Mhairi Nurthen said: “The qualifiers for the European Games were so much fun. The atmosphere was amazing and it was great to compete against the other teams and see how they play. We’ve all worked so hard to get to Baku and we are all really looking forward to competing and showing what we can do as a team.”

The selected athletes are below:


Millie Haffety (City of Sheffield Diving Club)
Ross Haslam (City of Sheffield Diving Club)
James Heatly (Edinburgh Diving Club)
Jordan Houlden (City of Sheffield Diving Club)
Matty Lee (City of Leeds Diving Club)
Shanice Lobb (Plymouth Diving)
Lydia Rosenthall  (City of Leeds Diving Club)
Katherine Torrance (City of Leeds Diving)
Lois Toulson (City of Leeds Diving Club)
Millie Fowler (City of Sheffield)
Matthew Dixon (Plymouth Diving)


Charlie Attwood  (Taunton Deane Swimming)
Layla Black (City Of Leeds Swimming Club)
Emma Cain (Millfield School)
Kyle Chisholm (BOK (Borough of Kirklees))
Amelia Clynes (City of Leeds Swimming Club)
Georgia Coates (City of Leeds Swimming Club)
Luke Davies (City of Birmingham)
Darcy Deakin (City Of Sheffield Swim Squad Limited)
Tom Derbyshire (Royal Wolverhampton School Swimming Club)
Hannah Featherstone (Sedgefield 75 ASC)
Luke Greenbank  (Cockermouth Swimming Club)
Holly Hibbott (Stockport Metro / Southport)
Joe Hulme (Plymouth Leander)
Jarvis Parkinson  (Doncaster Dartes)
Duncan Scott  (University of Stirling)
Becky Sherwin (Team Ipswich)
Daniel Speers (Millfield School)
Laura Stephens  (Plymouth Leander Swimming Club)
Martyn Walton (Hatfield Swimming Club)
Abbie Wood  (Derventio Excel Swim Squad and Buxton Swimming Club)
Tom Fannon (Plymouth Leander)
Joe Litchfield (Dearne Valley)
Madeleine Crompton  (Stockport Metro)
Cameron Kurle (Millfield)

Synchronised Swimmers:
Phoebe Bradley-Smith  (City of Birmingham Synchronised Swimming Club)
Jorja Brown (Rushmoor)
Danielle Cooper  (Rushmoor)
Jodie Cowie  (Rushmoor)
Emma Critchley (Reading Royals Synchronised Swimming Club)
Lara Hockin (Rushmoor)
Esme Lower (Reading Royals)
Genevieve Randall  (Bristol Central and Rushmoor)
Hannah Randall (Rushmoor)
Rebecca Richardson (City of Leeds Synchronised Swimming Club)

Water Polo Players:
Dani Brazier (Chelmsford Swimming Club)
Izzy Dean (London Otter Waterpolo Club)
Hannah Edwards (Menzieshill and Whitehall)
Sophie  Jackson (Leeds)
Fleur Kennedy (Warley Wasps)
Verity  McCoy (City of Liverpool)
Mhairi Nurthen  (Otter SC)
Lara Partridge  (Crawley/Mid Sussex Marlins)
Hayley Price (Tyldesley Swimming and Water Polo Club)
Kathy Rogers (Otter)
Grace Rowland (Liverpool Water Polo Club)
Lucy Shaw   (Liverpool Water Polo Club)
Beth Ward (Devonport Royal Swimming Association)