Monday, June 1, 2015

Fullalove and Tully Crowned Grand Prix Winners

At the end of the East District Grand Prix at the Royal Commonwealth Pool in Edinburgh Jessica Fullalove (City of Manchester Aquatics) and Mark Tully (Edinburgh University) were named the overall winners of the 2014/15 Grand Prix Series.

In the Women’s Sprint category Jessica Fullalove finished ahead of team-mate Rebecca Guy and Corrie Scott (Edinburgh University). Mark Tully won the Men’s Sprint category with maximum points ahead of Chris Steeples and Sam Horrocks of City of Manchester Aquatics.

Rebecca Murray (FIRST) and Orla Adams (Garioch) battled it out in the Middle Distance events but it was Murray who came out category winner with 57 points ahead of Adam’s 53. Chanel Sneddon (FIRST) was third overall with 35 points.

In the Men’s Middle Distance events Angus Barr of East Kilbride won the category with 50 points, just ahead of Thomas Paine (City of Manchester Aquatics) with 48 points. David MacGregor of Dumfries Dolphins was third with 37 points.

City of Glasgow swimmer Camilla Hattersley was the top swimmer in the Womens Distance category, finishing on 44 points. She finished ahead of Rebecca Smith (Warrender Baths Club) on 37 points and Meg Finnon of East Kilbride on 36 points.. 

Hattersley’s teammate Chris Lowther won the Men’s Distance category with 44 points, just ahead of Joseph Miley (Garioch) on 43 points, while youngster Scott McLay (Perth City) was third with 27 points.

The full results from the East District Grand Prix can be found here
The full breakdown of the Overall Category Winners is available here

There are three Grand Prix meets in the season, in Aberdeen, Glasgow and Edinburgh. There is a prize pot of £5000, with prizes for best overall male and female swimmer. There are also prizes for competitors in individual categories, with events in most strokes and distances. You can enter one, two or three of the annual events, but to be eligible for a prize, swimmers must compete in at least two of them.