Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Brown and McLean amongst team selected for European Junior Championships

The European Junior Championships are a key development opportunity for young British athletes.

Ryan Brown and Craig McLean will join European Games champions Holly Hibbott and Abbie Wood in a young British Swimming team set to compete in Hungary for the European Junior Championships this summer.

The team of 26 will compete in the city of Hodmezovasarhely from 6 to 10 July for continental honours.

Following an impressive 2015 season on the junior circuit, British Swimming Head of Performance Pathway Tim Jones is looking forward to seeing the level of progress that has been made.

“This will be the largest team we have taken to these Championships in recent years, and it is littered with quality and experience,” said Jones. “The change in female age groups this year will see a number of past gold medal winners, including Holly Hibbott and Abbie Wood, compete for the third year in succession, and this will provide invaluable experience to the team.”

The European Junior Championships are a key development opportunity for young British athletes and Jones fully expects his latest contingent to continue the success of their predecessors.

“We always judge the success of our junior programme on the number of athletes who manage to successfully convert to the senior ranks, so we take great pride in seeing Duncan Scott, Georgia Coates and Cameron Kurle recently named in the Rio Olympic Team,” said Jones.

“We hope and fully expect to see some of this latest crop of 26 swimmers push for their own Olympic selection in Tokyo in four years’ time, and this summer will provides a great opportunity to continue their journey." 

The European Junior Championships take place in Hodmezovasarhely, Hungary from 6 to 10 July 2016. The British team comprises:

Edward Baxter - Cockermouth

Ryan Brown – City of Glasgow Swim Team

Elliot Clogg – City of Sheffield

Tom Derbyshire – Royal Wolverhampton School

Thomas Fannon – Plymouth Leander

Nathan Hughes – Hatfield

Joe Litchfield – Doncaster DARTES

Craig McLean – University of Stirling

David Murphy – City of Oxford

Freya Anderson – Ellesmere College Titans

Layla Black – City of Leeds

Emma Cain – Millfield

Amelia Clynes – City of Leeds

Hannah Featherstone – Sedgefield and District

Isobel Griffiths – City of Birmingham

Holly Hibbott – Southport/Stockport Metro

Emily Large – Newcastle Swim Team

Anna Maine – Woking

Tazmin Pugh – Ellesmere College Titans

Ciara Schlosshan – City of Leeds

Laura Stephens – Plymouth Leander

Abbie Wood – National Centre, Loughborough

Lewis Clough – City of Salford

Jamie O’Connor – Thanet

Brodie Williams – Millfield

Alex Wray – Deepings