Tuesday, November 15, 2016

British Para-Swimming announces performance squads for 2017

A group of 49 athletes has been selected to join the British Para-Swimming Podium (13), Podium Potential (18) Programme and Para-Academy (18) as the sport enters the opening season of the 2020 Paralympic cycle.

The sport has been working through a robust performance review programme with coaches and athletes to decide who meets the UK Sport programme criteria and will receive direct support through the World Class Performance Programme.

Selected athletes will receive access to world-class sports science and medicine services, advanced training camp and competition opportunities and support from British Swimming performance staff and National Institute of Sport programmes across the country.

At the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games, the swimmers returned home with a total of 47 medals, including 16 golds, which made up almost a third of the total medal haul for ParalympicsGB.

British Para-Swimming will continue to work closely with the ASA, Scottish Swimming and Swim Wales to identify and recruit new talent to really capitalise on the Rio 2016 Games performance.

Athletes have now returned to training for their first season of the 2020 Paralympic cycle and are working hard to make sure they have the right foundations ahead of the four years ahead of them.

National Performance Director Chris Furber explained: “Rio marked the end a really strong cycle for British Para-Swimming. We reversed the downward trend and we achieved some of the best results ever for the sport at a Paralympics,” Furber said.

“However, as predicted the standard of competition in Rio took another leap forwards and while it’s important to enjoy our success we can’t miss a beat as we now prepare for Tokyo.

“The beginning of a cycle gives us the chance to take stock of where we are as a programme and create the best opportunities for our developing athletes to come through ahead of the 2020 Paralympics.

“The programme criteria that we put in place is based on whether the athlete has demonstrated that they on a focused path to the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games where we expect competition standards to be even greater than in Rio.

“We all have the desire to be even better in Tokyo and in the opening season of the quadrennial we will be working to ensure athletes get all of the challenges they need to improve. The next step is to ensure athletes and coaches have the right performance plans in place ahead of a tough 2017.”

Performance Pathway Manager Craig Nicholson added: “This last season has seen some significant performances from our younger athletes and as we move into the next four-year cycle to Tokyo we have made some changes to the structure, where there will be two groups of developing athletes.

“The Podium Potential programme will continue with 18 selected athletes, this is a strong focused group and they show the potential to reach the podium in 2020. This will be underpinned by a new Para-Academy Squad which will form the transition and confirmation process from Home Nation talent programmes onto the World Class Programme.

“This a really exciting opportunity for the programme to engage with 18 new young athletes who are currently showing they have the potential to be at 2020 or 2024 and to expose them to the what the expectations are of the World Class Programme prior to them hopefully being selected in the future. As a programme we are looking forward to supporting and working with the athletes and their coaches during the coming seasons.” 

Ellie Simmonds will be taking a short break from competition after the Paralympic Games before returning to full-time training next year and it has been agreed that she will not be included in this year's Podium programme.

Athletes selected for the Podium programme are:




Josef Craig     

City of Sunderland      

Danny Thompson

Bethany Firth    


Nelson Lindsay

Jonathan Fox       


Mark Rose

Tom Hamer 

National Performance Centre/COMAST

Rob Greenwood/Graeme Smith

Oliver Hynd

Nova Centurion

Glenn Smith

Michael Jones

National Performance Centre/Loughborough University

Rob Greenwood/Graeme Smith

Harriet Lee



Aaron Moores

Swansea Performance

Stuart McNarry

Andrew Mullen

National Performance Centre/Ren 96

Rob Greenwood/Graeme Smith

Eleansor Robinson

Northampton SC

Jacqui Marshall

Hannah Russell


Mark Rose

Scott Quin

Warrender Baths Club


Matt Wylie

City of Sunderland

Danny Thompson


Athletes selected for the Podium Potential programme are:




Jessica-Jane Applegate

UEA City of Norwich

Alex Pinniger

Alice Tai

National Performance Centre/Bournemouth College

Rob Greenwood/Graeme Smith

Stephanie Slater

National Performance Centre/Preston

Rob Greenwood/Graeme Smith

Abby Kane

Ren 96

Sharon MacIntyre

Rebecca Redfern

Worcester City

Mark Stowe

Jonathan Booth

Borough of Kirklees

Mark Lapin

Lewis White

City of Derby

Mel Marshall/Amanda Bell

Megan Richter


Carl Flynn

Maisie Summers-Newton


Jacquie Marshall

Zara Mullolly

City of Guildford

Lewis Dunford

Kahrou Harazawa

Loughborough University

Andi Manley

Stephen Clegg

East Lothian Swim Team

Bruce Halloran

Danielle Hartin

Basildon Phoenix

Matt Dibble

Lily Macleod

Mount Kelly

Jasmin Morgan

Grace Harvey

Hoddesdon SC

Janet Warrington

Jaxon Simmons

City of Peterborough

Ben Negus

Jay McCabe


Paul Woodley

Ben Foulston

Nova Centurion

Glenn Smith


Athletes selected for Para-Academy are:




Molly Hopkins

Neath ASC

Neil Goulding

Benjamin Grainger

Isle of Man Swimming Club

Lee Holland

Jordan Catchpole

UEA City of Norwich

Alex Pinniger

Beth Johnston


Lauren Jocelyn

Matthew Rishworth


Rob Crofts

Louise Fiddes

Hatfield SC

Janko Gojkovic

Oliver Carter

Carnegie SC

Morag Mitchell

Bethan Eckley

City of Cardiff

Dave Cocks

Cara Smyth


Garrie Roberts

Elise Martin De La Torre

Hatfield SC

Ingrid Wilkes/Janko Gojkovic

Toni Shaw


Mark Wilmott

Abbie Hampshire


Ian Scrivin/Andrew Croxall

Rebecca Lewis

Rhondda Cynon Taf Performance Swim Squad

Keith Morgan

Aliya Bacakoglu


Gareth Griffiths

Jacob Leach


Sean Balmer

Katie Crowhurst

Wycombe District Swimming Club

Cameron Roberts

Liam Spence

Kingston Upon Hull

Graham Martin

Oludaisi Adefisan


Tony Beckley