Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Scottish athletes head to U.S.


A combined British squad of 41 athletes will continue their early season racing strategy when they travel to Indianapolis for the latest round of the U.S. Pro Swim Series.

Six Scottish athletes have been selected for the squad: Duncan Scott, Dan Wallace, Stephen Milne, Ross Murdoch, Hannah Miley and Kathleen Dawson.

With just seven weeks to go until the British Swimming Championships in Sheffield (18-23 April), where titles and selection to this year’s World Championships will be fought for, a mixed squad of senior and next generation athletes will continue to hone their racing skills against the world’s number one nation.


“As a team we’re really looking forward to this challenge. It’s a new competition for us and will offer a considerable test as we’re expecting a good standard of competition in Indianapolis,” explained British Swimming Head Coach Bill Furniss.


“It will be good to bring the senior and the podium potential squads together where they will interact as one group. It’s a fantastic opportunity for the younger swimmers to learn from their more experienced team-mates but I know the seniors will also take a lot from the younger athletes as well.”


The meet is one of the key events of the Pro Swim Series and will feature some strong US swimmers.


“That is the aim of the event for the British squad,” said Furniss. “We want to go there and immerse ourselves in some hard-fought competition as we continue with our race development.


“This model of racing tough is ideal preparation for our athletes just weeks away from our British Swimming Championships. It’s part of an on-going racing strategy we’ve used to good effect over the past three seasons and I’m looking forward to seeing how our athletes respond to the challenge.”


For British Swimming Head of Elite Development Tim Jones the Indianapolis event continues a theme of collaborative working with the senior programme designed to enhance the transition of athletes from junior level.


“Over the past three years we’ve tried to work closer together as a combined podium and podium potential world class programme,” said Jones. “What we will see in Indianapolis is a fully integrated cohort of athletes, coaches, management and support staff as well.


“This event is a good example of how athletes and the wider team can learn from each other across all levels. It’s not just a case of juniors learning from seniors. There is a real benefit to be had for all as we implement athlete behaviours across all levels within programme.


“The event will offer finals across four levels and therefore gives a broader section of athletes and coaches that opportunity to practice the processes they need to define between heat and final swims.”


The Pro Swim Series will take place at Indiana University from 2 to 4 March.


The British squad comprises:


Charlie Attwood – National Centre Bath

Edward Baxter – National Centre Loughborough

Elliott Clogg - City of Sheffield

Luke Davies – City of Birmingham

Tom Derbyshire – National Centre Bath

Tom Fannon – Plymouth Leander

Nick Grainger – City of Sheffield

Luke Greenbank – National Centre Loughborough

James Guy – National Centre Bath

Joseph Hulme – National Centre Bath

Nathan Hughes – National Centre Loughborough

Calum Jarvis – National Centre Bath

Cameron Kurle – National Centre Bath

Joe Litchfield – City of Sheffield

Max Litchfield – City of Sheffield

Stephen Milne – Perth

Ross Murdoch – University of Stirling

Adam Peaty – National Centre Loughborough

Duncan Scott – University of Stirling

Tim Shuttleworth – National Centre Loughborough

Chris Walker-Hebborn – National Centre Bath

Dan Wallace – University of Stirling

Brodie Williams – Millfield School

Andrew Willis – National Centre Bath

Freya Anderson – Ellesmere College

Layla Black – City of Leeds

Georgina Boyle – National Centre Bath

Jazz Carlin – National Centre Bath

Harriet Cooper – National Centre Loughborough

Kathleen Dawson – University of Stirling

Jess Fullalove – National Centre Bath

Emily Large – Newcastle ST

Anna Maine – Woking SC

Hannah Miley – University of Aberdeen

Tazmin Pugh – Ellesmere College

Molly Renshaw – National Centre Loughborough

Rosie Rudin – City of Sheffield

Chloe Tutton – City of Cardiff

Sarah Vasey - National Centre Loughborough

Aimee Willmott – London Aquatics Centre Performance Programme

Abbie Wood – National Centre Loughborough

For  more information, please contact Helen Plank, Marketing Manager on h.plank@scottishswimming.com or 07702 872964