Thursday, May 11, 2017

Zahra selected for U17 European Qualifiers

Dominique Zahra is one of 13 British water polo players to have been selected to compete in the LEN European Junior Water Polo Championships Qualification Tournament, which runs from 11-14 May.

16 year old Zahra is a member of Warrender Water Polo and Caledonia, and while he has represented Scotland at both junior and senior level, this will be his first GBR cap.

Zahra started playing water polo aged 11 and by the age of 12 had been selected to train with the senior men. Coach Neal Rayner said,

“Domma, as he goes by in training, made an impact on the men’s game almost immediately and as a 12 year that’s pretty unheard of. He trains hard and has established himself as a very versatile player; I’m delighted he’s got this selection.”

This is the first international water polo competition to take place in Great Britain since the final of the Commonwealth Championships in 2014, which were held in Aberdeen.

The Group C matches will involve Great Britain, Israel, Lithuania, Romania and Ukraine and will take place at the competition pool at East Manchester Leisure Centre, a purpose built 30m pool forming part of the Sports City complex and home of Manchester City Football Club.


Thursday 11 May

1730          Ukraine V Israel

1900          Lithuania V GBR

Friday 12 May

1730          Romania V Lithuania

19.00         GBR V Israel

Saturday 13 May      

0930          Israel V Lithuania

1100          Ukraine V Romania


17.30         GBR V Ukraine

1900          Israel V Romania


Sunday 14 May                     

0930          Lithuania V Ukraine

1100          Romania V GBR


Results from the matches can be found here

British U17 Team for European Junior Championship Qualifiers

  1. Thomas Manley (Newton Abbot SC)
  2. George Reader (South Derbyshire Water Polo Club)
  3. Dominique Zahra (Warrender Water Polo)
  4. Finlay Parnell (Team Ipswich Swimming)
  5. Ben Stephenson (Sedgefield Water Polo Club)
  6. Connor Carpenter (City of Sheffield WPC)
  7. Matthew Kendall (Bridgefield WP)
  8. Maclaren Crawford (Beckenham SC)
  9. Michael Cousins (Sedgefield Water Polo Club)
  10. Jos Winstanley (City of Manchester WPC)
  11. Michael Patterson (City of Manchester WPC)
  12. Daniel Hunt (Rotherham Metro SC)
  13. Aril Pandya (Watford Water Polo Club)


England face Scotland in men’s senior match

Also taking place over the weekend is the senior men’s game between England and Scotland. The match revives a tradition which dates back nearly 130 years and kicks off at 2:30pm on Saturday 13 May.