Monday, October 1, 2018

Scottish Swimming celebrate a year of success

Duncan Scott’s outstanding season was again recognised on Saturday night as he picked up the Nancy Riach Memorial Medal, while Kirkintilloch & Kilsyth Amateur Swimming Clubs’s hard work over the past 12 months was rewarded with the Club of the Year accolade at the Scottish Swimming Awards night held at the Radisson Blu hotel in Glasgow.

Hosted by TV Presenter and Journalist, Lee McKenzie, 300 guests including volunteers, athletes, coaches, partners and guests from across the aquatics community came together to celebrate success at domestic, national and international level.

Duncan Scott ended the season a Commonwealth and European Champion and his six medal haul from the Gold Coast made him Scotland’s most successful athlete from a single Commonwealth Games. Scott’s coach, Steven Tigg, was also recognised for the part he played, with BSCA (Scotland) awarding him the Coach of the Year title.

Scott was presented with his award by Scottish Water's Director of Corporate Affairs, Brian Lironi; afterwards we caught up with them both.

In his role as Learn to Swim Ambassador, Scott was also on hand to present the Scottish Water Learn to Swim Service Provider of the Year award, which was won by Glasgow Sport. Glasgow Sport has made transformational changes to its Learn to Swim programme, not only in terms of providing more opportunities for children to learn to swim but also investing in the training and development of their workforce enabling them to deliver a quality environment to ensure all children have a fun, enjoyable experiences. In addition their aquatics programme has seen 85% growth in the last 2 years providing swimming lessons for over 7500 children across the city.

The Club of the Year Award is aimed at recognising the fantastic work clubs undertake to develop swimming, masters, diving, synchro & water polo in their local community. This year’s winners, Kirkintilloch & Kilsyth ASC, year describe themselves as more than just a swimming club.  Their vision is to provide an inclusive club, providing a progressive health, swimming and leadership programme to promote confidence, self-esteem, health and skills in a culture of learning, encouragement and support where each individual can maximize their potential.

Grace Reid, who became Scotland’s first ever female diving gold medallist at a Commonwealth Games (1m springboard), and who then went onto win gold at the Glasgow European Championships in the 3m event, won the John and Margaret Bell Award for diving.

Toni Shaw’s medal winning efforts at the European Para Swimming Championships in Dublin, where she won medals in six events and achieving personal best times in four of those, was also awarded with the Jim Anderson Award for Disability Swimmer of the Year.

This year’s Awards evening acted as a double celebration of the achievements made by Scottish competitors in Aquatics events as we welcomed new Athletes into the Scottish Swimming Hall of Fame, a virtual platform celebrating the lifetime achievements of key Scottish athletes in all fields of aquatics. The Hall of Fame can be viewed online at


This year’s inductees are:

Kenny Cairns (swimming)

James Clegg (swimming)

Paul Easter (swimming)

Sean Fraser (swimming)

Michael Jamieson (swimming)

Andrew Lindsay (swimming)

Maggi McEleny (swimming)

Caitlin McClatchey (swimming)

Paul Noble (swimming)

Robbie Renwick (swimming)

Graeme Marchbank, Chair of Scottish Swimming, thanked all involved in the aquatic community for a successful year, he said, “The Scottish Swimming Awards once again acknowledge the outstanding successes achieved throughout the aquatics field from athletes and coaches to volunteers and local authorities, all of whom play an important role in leading our sport - a sport for all, a sport for life.

“Scottish Swimming has enjoyed great success over the past 12 months and once again we are delighted that there was so much to celebrate, and we look forward to 2019.”

The full list of Awards winners for 2018 is as follows:

WG Todd Prize & Cup (Female)

Keanna MacInnes

WG Todd Prize & Cup (Male)

Lucas Thomson

JY Coutts Award

Stephen Milne

Jim Anderson Award for Disability Swimmer of the Year

Toni Shaw

Synchronised Swimmer of the Year

Bethany Thomas

Eian Prentice Memorial Trophy

Struan Kingdom

Denis Sullivan Memorial Trophy

Jamie McCaffray

John & Margaret Bell Award

Grace Reid

Junior Water Polo Player of the Year

Niamh Moloney

The Masters Decathlon Award (Female)

Judy Hattle

The Masters Decathlon Award (Male)

Stuart McIntosh 

John Gunning Volunteer Award – East

Alistair Shields

John Gunning Volunteer Award – Midland

Lynn Mitchell

John Gunning Volunteer Award – North

David Downie

John Gunning Volunteer Award – West

Alison Finlayson

BSCA (Scotland) Junior Coach of the Year

Kostas Kalitsis

BSCA (Scotland) Para Swimming Coach of the Year

Gregor McMillan

BSCA (Scotland) Coach of the Year

Steven Tigg

Scottish Water Learn to Swim Service Provider of the Year

Glasgow Sport

Club of the Year

Kirkintilloch & Kilsyth

Nancy Riach Memorial Medal

Duncan Scott

Pictures from the awards night can be found HERE