Sunday, December 2, 2018

Reid and Thomson round off championships with Scottish success

Grace Reid was crowned Women's 3m champion on the final night of the Scottish National & Open Championships, as Lucas Thomson won the Scottish title in the Men's Platform event to bring the meet to a close.

Tom Daley was the Open champion in the Men's Platform event, finishing with a score of 430.85. The DIVELondon athlete led throughout the final, and finished atop the podium places ahead of Matty Lee (Plymouth) and Noah Williams (London) but for the Scottish honours it was a close-run competition between Thomson and Edinburgh Diving Club teammate James Heatly. Thomson began stronger but Heatly's third and fourth dives were superb and pushed him ahead, only for the standings to reverse on the final dive.

After picking up his medal, Thomson said that although he was happy with the performance, he still has things to improve on. 

He said: "It feels really good, it makes all the hard work pay off. There's still things to work on, one dive in particular, but I'm very very happy with the rest of the meet.

"It's really just about working on the technique. It's only quite recent that we moved all our dives up again for the new season so it's all about getting back to where we were last season." Thomson added that he plans to introduce a new armstand twist for the next competition and a new Reverse 3 1/2 somersault dive. 

For Reid, the win on the 3m marked a wholly successful return to the scene of her European Championship glory but tonight's final wasn't all plain sailing, though she is pleased with her weekend's performance.

Reid said: "Today my list was very consistent but my last dive was chaos, but that's diving. But I'm really pleased with how the weekend's gone, it's a good start to the new season."

Reid also revealed that she's struggling a bit with injury at the moment, but remains focused on next summer's World Championships in South Korea.

Other Open winners on the final day of competition were Holly Waxman, Callie Eaglestone, Hannah Newbrook, Owen Harrison, Milo French and Zachary Anderson. On the National front, Madeleine Finlayson, Clara Kerr, Chloe Sinclair, Angus Menmuir, Lewis Thomas and Rayne Hamilton were successful.

Full results from the competition can be found on Dive Recorder.