Saturday, September 28, 2019

Scotland’s Aquatics Community Celebrate Year of Success

Hosted by popular Radio and TV Presenter, Arlene Stuart, over 300 guests including volunteers, athletes, coaches, partners and guests enjoyed a night to remember as the Scottish Swimming community celebrated success at domestic, national and international level.

Kinross Otters had to wait for the penultimate award before finding out they had won the Club of the Year accolade, having been shortlisted alongside Dumfries ASC and West Dunbartonshire ASC. The Club of the Year Award is aimed at recognising the fantastic work clubs undertake to develop swimming, masters, diving, synchro & water polo in their local community.

Kinross Otters describe themselves as a community club with a competitive edge where inclusion is key to the clubs success and the club prides itself on ensuring everyone has a voice and every member is valued, whether they are a swimmer in the pool, a coach on poolside or a volunteer on the committee. 

Duncan Scott’s outstanding season was again recognised as he picked up both the Swimmer of the Year Award and the Nancy Riach Memorial Medal. In Gwangju back in July Scott picked up his first individual medal from a World Championships and was instrumental in the British quartet winning gold in the 4x100m medley relay.

Scott, in his role as Learn to Swim Ambassador, was also on hand to present enjoy leisure with the Scottish Water Learn to Swim Service Provider of the Year Award. The Leisure Trust from East Lothian were shortlisted alongside North Lanarkshire Leisure and Sport Aberdeen and won the award through their links within the community, schools and clubs showing how strong partnerships can have a real positive impact and these links demonstrate a strong, cohesive and co-ordinated pathway where children can achieve their potential.

Toni Shaw won the Disability Swimmer of the Year title after her superb season which saw her break a World Record and win six medals from the World Para Swimming World Championships earlier this month.

Synchronised Swimming was also a big winner with Niamh Peters from Nairn winning Synchronised Swimmer of the year while her mum, Sharon Hamilton and Linda Atkinson were given the John Gunning Volunteer Awards for the North and West Districts respectively. The East District Award was presented to Carolyn Crichton while the Midland District Volunteer of the Year was Heather McCallum.

In her opening address SASA President, Moraig Macdonald said of the Scottish Swimming community,

“We applaud the outstanding achievements of individuals within our organisation, alongside those whose work within our partner organisations provides essential support for our aquatic community. The inclusive and supportive community created through this fusion assures the continued provision of aquatic sporting environments that provide opportunities for all throughout life.”

The full list of Awards winners for 2019 is as follows:

WG Todd Prize & Cup (Male)

Archie Goodburn

WG Todd Prize & Cup (Female)

Katie Shanahan

JY Coutts Award

Maureen Campbell OBE

Synchronised Swimmer of the Year

Niamh Peters

Eian Prentice Memorial Trophy

Nathan Grimley

Junior Water Polo Player of the Year

Harry Gray

Masters Decathlon Award (Male)

Martin Snape

Masters Decathlon Award (Female)

Audrey Cooper

John & Margaret Bell Award

James Heatly

Denis Sullivan Memorial Trophy

Katie Taylor

Jim Anderson Award for Disability Swimmer of the Year

Toni Shaw

Swimmer of the Year

Duncan Scott

John Gunning Volunteer Award (East)

Carolyn Crichton

John Gunning Volunteer Award (Midland)

Heather McCallum

John Gunning Volunteer Award (North)

Sharon Hamilton

John Gunning Volunteer Award (West)

Linda Atkinson

BSCA (Scotland) Junior Coach of the Year

Danielle Brayson

BSCA (Scotland) Para Swimming Coach of the Year

Gregor McMillan

BSCA (Scotland) Coach of the Year

Duncan Scott

Scottish Water Learn to Swim Service Provider of the Year


Club of the Year

Kinross Otters

Nancy Riach Memorial Award

Duncan Scott

 Pictures from the awards night are available to view on Flickr here.