Friday, September 13, 2013

Hannah Miley launches fleet of vans ahead of Scottish Swimming Awards

Hannah Miley launches fleet of vans ahead of Scottish Swimming Awards to celebrate success of aquatics community at Glasgow Science Centre

Commonwealth Games Champion Hannah Miley was one of many people in Scotland’s wide aquatic community recognised at the 14th Scottish Swimming Awards, proudly sponsored by Scottish Gas, at the Glasgow Science Centre on 13 September 2013. The Scottish Swimming Awards also celebrated the 125th anniversary of the Scottish Amateur Swimming Association, founded in 1888.

Miley has received the Nancy Riach Memorial Medal in recognition of her three medals at the European Short Course Championships and her first 400 IM World Short Course Championships Gold in Istanbul last December, improving her European Record in a time of 4:23.14.

Ahead of the Scottish Swimming Awards Miley launched the new ‘Hannah Fleet’ of Scottish Gas vans at the Glasgow Science Centre, featuring the image of the World and European Champion to highlight her role as ambassador, as well as Scottish Gas’ continuing support of Scottish Swimming at all levels. The 120 vans will hit the streets across Scotland over the coming months, including Miley’s home region of Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire.

In her position as Scottish Gas ambassador, Hannah will also be leading a team at Scottish Gas SwimBritain, a team relay challenge taking place at the Royal Commonwealth Pool in Edinburgh on Sunday 29th September. Part of a programme designed to get 500,000 people across the country swimming more regularly, SwimBritain Scotland is the final event of a ten-venue nationwide series and Hannah is excited at the prospect, 

“It is great to be to be able to “give something back” for all the support I have received from the Scottish public over the years and would encourage people to join me and get swimming.”

The event still has limited places remaining and more information can be found at

Kevin Roxburgh, Managing Director of Scottish Gas, the event’s sponsor and Scottish Swimming principal partner, is proud of the existing partnership the two organisations have formed: ‘I am extremely proud of the partnership between Scottish Gas and Scottish Swimming. We want everyone to get inspired by sport and use swimming to improve their lifestyle. This evening is not just about the achievements of some of our most talented athletes but the contribution of Scotland’s aquatic community as a whole.’

The highlight of the evening was the awards ceremony in the IMAX theatre, hosted by Olympic bronze medallist and BBC commentator Steve Parry. 20 awards, celebrating the success of the entire Scottish aquatics community both nationally and internationally, were presented.

Next to Miley other winners on the night included Andrew Mullen, winning the Jim Anderson Award for Disability Swimmer of the Year. He received the award for his success competing in his first IPC World Championships in Montreal this August, where he lowered his own European Record in the heats of the S5 50m butterfly before claiming Bronze in the final on the first day of competition. He went one better claiming silver in the S5 50m backstroke on day three and matched that with a second silver in the SM5 200m IM, both in new British Records. 

The event also recognised the contribution of the Local Authority and Leisure Trust Service Providers, who play a major part in supporting Scottish Swimming’s programmes and services and their vision that every person in Scotland should have access to quality swimming programmes, regardless of age or ability. One of the awards, The Awards Service Provider of the Year, was awarded for the third year in a row to South Lanarkshire Leisure & Culture.

Guests at the event included Commonwealth Games Gold Medallists Robbie Renwick, Caitlin McClatchey and David Carry, who were joined by the Minister for Commonwealth Games and Sport, Shona Robison MSP, Michael Cavanagh, Chair of Commonwealth Games Scotland, Glasgow 2014 CEO David Grevemberg and Chair of sportscotland, Louise Martin CBE, amongst many others.

The event moved to the Glasgow Science Centre in 2011 to mark Scottish Swimming’s strong connection with the city in the lead up to the Commonwealth Games next year in Glasgow, while Scottish Swimming successfully returned to Glasgow with the Scottish Gas National Open Swimming Championships held at Tollcross International Swimming Centre in June.   Tollcross is also playing host to Scottish Swimming’s Participation and Performance Conference which sees delegates from across Scotland discuss and debate how to develop lasting aquatic legacies which will benefit Scotland for years to come. 

Maureen Campbell, Chair of the Scottish Swimming Board, thanked all involved in the aquatic community for a successful year: ‘The Scottish Swimming Awards once again acknowledged the outstanding successes achieved throughout the aquatics field from athletes and coaches to volunteers and local authorities, all of whom play an important role in leading our sport - a sport for all, a sport for life. The Scottish Amateur Swimming Association has enjoyed great success over the past 125 years, and once again, we are delighted that there was so much to celebrate from the 2012-2013 season and look forward to 2014.’

For more information about Scottish Swimming visit    

The full list of Award Winners from the 2013 Scottish Swimming Awards Event is as follows:

Awards Service Provider of the Year:                                              South Lanarkshire Leisure & Culture

Swim Active Service Provider of the Year:                                     Edinburgh Leisure

School Swimming Provider of the Year:                                          Falkirk Community Trust & Falkirk Council

Swim for Change Young Person Award:                                          Dione Dickson

WG Todd Prize & Cup (Female):                                                       Kathleen Dawson

WG Todd Prize & Cup (Male):                                                           Duncan Scott

Senior Water Polo Player:                                                                                 Miles Radcliffe Trenner

Junior Water Polo Player:                                                                  Alison Tate

John & Margaret Bell Award:                                                            Susan Forbes

Denis Sullivan Memorial Trophy:                                                      Mark Deans

Eian Prentice Memorial Trohpy:                                                       Scott Deans

Synchronised Swimmer of the Year:                                                Edie Turner

John Gunning – East District Volunteer of the Year:                      Susan Liddle

John Gunning – West District Volunteer of the Year:                   John Kerr

John Gunning – Midland District Volunteer of the Year:              Moraig Macdonald

The Jim Anderson Award for Disability Swimmer of the Year:    Andrew Mullen

BSCA Coach of the Year:                                                                     Patrick Miley

BSCA Development Coach of the Year:                                           Ben Higson

BSCA Junior Coach of the Year:                                                         Steven Tigg

JY Coutts Award:                                                                                  Blair Prentice

Nancy Riach Memorial Medal:                                                          Hannah Miley

Scottish Gas Outstanding Contribution to Swimming Award:       Win Hayes